You are here

Franck Sonata

Violin Alan Smith
Piano Alex Raineri
Flute Hayley Radke
Bassoon David Mitchell
Clarinet Nicholas Harmsen
Harp Jill Atkinson
Flute Monika Koerner
Violin Delia Kinmont
Violin Rebecca Seymour
Viola Charlotte Burbrook de Vere
Cello Matthew Kinmont

Franck Violin Sonata
Villa-Lobos Bachianas Brasileiras No.6
Ravel Introduction and Allegro

*A $6.95 fee applies per transaction
5 Pack
$125 - $195*
*Inclusive of Edicson Ruiz Chamber Concert. A $14 fee applies per transaction

Get seduced with this mélange of favourites and hidden gems.

Associate Concertmaster Alan Smith begins with the tenderness of Franck’s Violin Sonata. Written for his friend Ysaÿe’s wedding, the beautifully-crafted piece evokes blossoming romance and outpourings of love, ending in exultant joy.

Villa-Lobos’ intriguing Bachianas Brasileiras No.6 paints a vivid portrait of a Brazilian serenade between flute and bassoon. Absolutely mesmerising, the neoclassical piece conjures the musical atmosphere of Bach and the melodic spirit of Brazil’s north-east.

To conclude, Ravel’s Introduction and Allegro flaunts the harp, propping it on a rightly deserved pedestal of elegance and splendour. The exquisite work uses an unusual ensemble to stunning effect, starting with a dreamy whisper and culminating in a blaze of colourful orchestration.