You are here

Schubert Octet

Clarinet Brian Catchlove
Bassoon David Mitchell
French Horn Lauren Manuel
Violin Shane Chen
Violin Natalie Low
Viola Charlotte Burbrook de Vere
Cello Tim Byrne
Double Bass Phoebe Russell

Schubert Octet in F, D.803

* A $6.95 fee applies per transaction
Set Series (5)
$125 - $195
Choose 3+*
$25 - $40
Choose 7+*
$25 - $35
Choose 3+* (SE)
$40 - $55
Choose 7+* (SE)
$40 - $55
*Per concert, choose your own across series. A $10 fee applies per transaction. Higher Price as indicated for 'special events'.

The six movements of the Schubert Octet, along with its blend of strings and woodwind, are significant, making the work feel like a cheery serenade.

Count Troyer, a keen clarinetist, commissioned Schubert to write a piece reminiscent of Beethoven’s Septet and, while the influence of that compositional giant are apparent, the restless, searching quality of the phrasing and the Scherzo’s excitable dynamic is classic Schubert.

At the start of the Finale, the mood darkens fleetingly, before being brushed away by the main theme’s elation. Breathtaking!