You are here


Conductor Jaime Martín
Soloist Alessandro Carbonare, Clarinet

Kats-Chernin Mythic
Copland Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra
Berlioz Symphonie Fantastique

A Reserve
$49 - $119
B Reserve
$49 - $99
C Reserve
$49 - $79
* A transaction fee of $7.20 applies per transaction.
Set Series (10)
$400 - $840
Set Series (12)
$480 - $1,008
Choose 3+
$40 - $98
Choose 7+
$40 - $93
* A transaction fee of $10 per booking applies to ticket packages in 2019.

Be uplifted by Copland’s breezy concerto commissioned by Benny Goodman.

Enjoy the clarinet’s lyrical power in the first movement and the zesty fusion of jazzy and Latin American elements in the second. Kats-Chernin’s brooding Mythic soon builds to a pulsing exuberance of irresistible appeal. Symphonie Fantastique was a trailblazer because of its innovative orchestration and cinematic narrative. A heartbroken artist imbibes opium and in his inebriation observes his own execution. After his death, ghouls, witches and wizards surround him. In ‘March to the Scaffold’, listen for the whopping chord symbolising the executioner’s fatal blow a moment before the end.

The safest way to buy
QTIX is the official ticketing service for QPAC and Dreamscapes. Subscription packages are sold through Queensland Symphony Orchestra Box Office only. Any tickets purchased through unauthorised sales channels may be seized or cancelled without refund or exchange and the bearer of the ticket may be denied admission. Unauthorised sales channels include Viagogo, eBay and Gumtree. Read more about purchasing tickets online.




Jaime Martín

Jaime Martín has risen quickly to international acclaim as a conductor following his prominent career as a flautist. Recently announced as Music Director Designate of the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, he will begin his tenure...
More info

Alessandro Carbonare

Alessandro Carbonare was born in Desenzano del Garda (Northen Italy). He joined the Orchestra di Santa Cecilia as Principal Clarinet in 2003, having held the same position with the National Orchestra of France for 15...
More info