You are here

Epic Visions

Conductor Eduardo Strausser 
Australian debut, Queensland Symphony Orchestra exclusive
Violin Barnabás Kelemen

Mendelssohn The Hebrides, Op.26 (Fingal’s Cave)
Mozart Concerto No.4 in D for Violin and Orchestra, K.218
Bruckner Symphony No.4 in E flat

Duration: Two hours and 15 minutes, including a 20 minute interval (subject to change without notice)
A Reserve
$49 - $117*
B Reserve
$49 - $97*
C Reserve
$49 - $79*
* Up to an $8.20 fee applies per transaction
Choose 3+*
$40 - $97.50
*Per concert, choose your own across series. A $10 fee applies per transaction.

In one concert, Queensland Symphony Orchestra, violinist Barnábas Kelemen and conductor Eduardo Stausser present us with the immense and the intimate.

On a trip to Scotland in 1829, German composer Felix Mendelssohn was gobsmacked by the natural rock formation known as Fingal’s Cave and was inspired to create The Hebrides - a legendary piece of classical music full of lapping water and mysterious beauty.

Barnábas Kelemen performed the Brahms Violin Concert with Queensland Symphony Orchestra last year and audience and reviewers all agreed: the Hungarian violinist was a revelation. ‘Not only a master of his instrument but also of the concert stage’ (Stage Whispers) and ‘a big personality on stage … his execution was supernaturally good’ (Limelight Magazine). You won’t want to miss the chance to hear him perform the beautiful Violin Concerto No.4 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

Finally, take a deep breath and let go of the concept of time and space for the mighty Symphony No.4 of Anton Bruckner. From hushed opening through to transcendent finale, it will be one of the most powerful orchestral experiences of the year.

The safest way to buy
QTIX is the official ticketing service for QPAC and Epic Visions. Subscription packages are sold through Queensland Symphony Orchestra Box Office only. Any tickets purchased through unauthorised sales channels may be seized or cancelled without refund or exchange and the bearer of the ticket may be denied admission. Unauthorised sales channels include Viagogo, eBay and Gumtree. Read more about purchasing tickets online.


Program Notes

Queensland Symphony Orchestra is pleased to provide free concert programs to further enrich your concert experience. Here you will find detailed notes on the composers and repertoire, and biographies of guest artists.

You can help us reduce the cost of these printed programs and reduce the impact on the environment. View the program notes online prior to the concert, or download only the sections you wish to bring to the concert. And if you do need a printed program, please take one between two and keep it for the month of concerts.



Eduardo Strausser

Eduardo Strausser’s powerful and dynamic style was recently praised by Opera magazine, which singled him out as bringing “youthful fire to the work [of Otello]”, and “drew out playing that displayed the full spectrum of...
More info

Barnabás Kelemen

An artist of “innate musicality” with a technical execution that belongs “only to the greatest” (The Guardian), Hungarian violinist Barnabás Kelemen has captured the attention of the music world. With a repertoire that ranges from...
More info