You are here

Orchestral Soloists

Conductor Alondra de la Parra
Piano Sergio Tiempo
2018 Artist-in-Residence

Rachmaninov Concerto No.3 in D minor for Piano and Orchestra, op.30
Bartók Concerto for Orchestra

Works also performed on Sat 4 Aug

Duration: 75 minutes without an interval (subject to change without notice)
A Reserve
$49 - $87*
B Reserve
$49 - $74*
* Up to an $8.20 fee applies per transaction
Choose 3+*
$40 - $97.50
*Per concert, choose your own across series. A $10 fee applies per transaction.

Composed in 1909, Rachmaninov’s third piano concerto electrifies with its complex piano work and romantic melodies.

Martha Argerich taught Sergio Tiempo to rehearse multiple interpretations of this piece, and this inbuilt flexibility ignites his performance with a heart-in-the-mouth spontaneity that can’t be matched!

Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra, meanwhile, is exactly that – a chance for the whole orchestra to shine.

He said that the piece has a ‘tendency to treat the single orchestral instruments in a soloistic manner’, giving orchestral sections, duos and individuals the chance to really stand out. Unmissable.

The safest way to buy
QTIX is the official ticketing service for QPAC and Orchestral Soloists. Subscription packages are sold through Queensland Symphony Orchestra Box Office only. Any tickets purchased through unauthorised sales channels may be seized or cancelled without refund or exchange and the bearer of the ticket may be denied admission. Unauthorised sales channels include Viagogo, eBay and Gumtree. Read more about purchasing tickets online.


Program Notes

Queensland Symphony Orchestra is pleased to provide free concert programs to further enrich your concert experience. Here you will find detailed notes on the composers and repertoire, and biographies of guest artists.

You can help us reduce the cost of these printed programs and reduce the impact on the environment. View the program notes online prior to the concert, or download only the sections you wish to bring to the concert. And if you do need a printed program, please take one between two and keep it for the month of concerts.


Music Director

Alondra de la Parra: Music Director

Alondra de la Parra has gained widespread attention for her spellbinding and vibrant performances, and her commitment to Latin American composers. She frequently works with some of the world's most prestigious orchestras including Orchestre de...
More info

Sergio Tiempo

Described by Gramophone magazine as “perhaps the most dazzling and spontaneous pianist of his generation”, Sergio Tiempo has developed a reputation as one of the most individual of pianists, able to make even the most...
More info

The Queensland Symphony Orchestra Music Director is proudly supported by Tim Fairfax AC. The Artist-in-Residence program is supported by the Trevor & Judith St Baker Family Foundation and The University of Queensland.