You are here

Timeless Odysseys

Conductor Guy Braunstein
Piano Denis Kozhukhin

Prokofiev Concerto No.2 in G minor for Piano and Orchestra, Op.16
Strauss, R. Also sprach Zarathustra (Thus Spake Zarathustra), TrV 176, Op.30

A Reserve
$49 - $87*
B Reserve
$49 - $74*
* Up to an $8.20 fee applies per transaction
Set Series (5)
$200 - $375
Choose 3+*
$40 - $97.50
Choose 7+*
$40 - $92.50
*Per concert, choose your own across series. A $10 fee applies per transaction.

Prokofiev’s Concerto No.2 is a true heart racer spiked with folksy tunes and lightning rushes up and down the piano keys.

No wonder it remains one of the most technically formidable piano concertos in the standard repertoire. For dramatic punch, it’s hard to beat Zarathustra’s thrilling, introductory, brass-fuelled Sunrise fanfare.

Elvis Presley used this famous piece as a prelude to his concerts. Its inclusion in Stanley Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey has made it one of the most instantly recognisable pieces.



Guy Braunstein

Violinist Guy Braunstein was born in Tel Aviv, Israel, and studied the violin under the guidance of Chaim Taub and later in New York with Glenn Dicterow and Pinchas Zuckerman. He started performing as an...
More info

Denis Kozhukhin

“[Kozhukhin’s] dazzling performance … must have lifted Orchestra Hall a few feet off its foundation. It was hard, in fact, to imagine any pianist seizing this formidably difficult concerto in a mightier grip than this...
More info

​Morning Masterworks is proudly supported by 4MBS Classic FM.