Young Instrumentalist Prize

Queensland Symphony Orchestra presents the Young Instrumentalist Prize.

The Young Instrumentalist Prize presents an opportunity for exceptional Queensland school students to audition in front of a panel of Queensland Symphony Orchestra musicians, with a public performance opportunity and $12,000 in prize money available to up to six finalists. The overall winner will have the opportunity to perform as a soloist on stage with Queensland Symphony Orchestra on Friday 9 March 2018.


Open to students enrolled in a Queensland secondary school performing on an orchestral instrument (including saxophone) at a minimum standard of AMEB Grade 8. Audition pieces must be a movement from a standard concerto for soloist and orchestra with a time limit of no longer than 10 minutes.


Entries close: Friday 17 November 2017
Auditions: Monday 5 or Tuesday 6 February 2018
Finalists Recital: Monday 19 February 2018
Winner’s Performance: Friday 9 March 2018


For further information contact: Pam Lowry, Education Liaison Officer
Email: or 07 3833 5035

2017 winners

Winner of the Young Instrumentalist Prize of $5000 and the opportunity to perform as soloist on stage with Queensland Symphony Orchestra
This performance will be in the Education ENGAGE concert: The Grand Tannhauser, Thursday 20 April 2017 at 11.30am.
Leanne McGowan, violin
Max Bruch
Scottish Fantasy in E flat major Op.46 – Mvt 4

2nd Prize of $3000
Julius Lynch, violin
Camille Saint-Saëns
Violin Concerto No.3 in B minor Op.61 – Mvt 3
Julius was also the recipient of the loan of a violin for 12 months from Lilly Camden, MFA Anthony Camden Fund and National instrumental Bank Award.

3rd Prize of $2000
Noah Lynch, violin

Giovanni Battista Viotti
Violin Concerto No.22 - Mvt 1

4th Prize of $1000
Jessica Walther, flute

Carl Reinecke
Concerto for Flute and Orchestra in D major Op.283 – Mvt 3

5th Prize of $500
Harry Egerton, violin

Camille Saint-Saëns
Violin Concerto No.3 in B minor Op.61 – Mvt 1

6th Prize of $500
Sola Hughes, violin

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
Violin Concerto in E minor Op.64 – Mvt 1