You are here

The Gallipoli Symphony

Conductor Jessica Cottis

Gelibolu Omar Faruk Tekbilek (Turkey)
He Poroporaoki (Farewell) Gareth Farr and Richard Nunns (New Zealand)
The Voyage Graeme Koehne AO (Australia)
Thoughts of Home Peter Sculthorpe AO OBE (Australia)
The Landing Elena Kats-Chernin (Australia)
The Invasion Kamran Ince (Turkey)
God Pity Us Poor Soldiers Ross Harris (New Zealand)
The August Offensive Andrew Schultz (Australia)
The Trenches Are Empty Now Ross Edwards (Australia)
Hope of the Higher Heart Demir Demirkan (Turkey)
Future Graeme Koehne AO (Australia)

A $6.95 fee applies per transaction

The story of Gallipoli is everlasting.  It is a story of endeavour, courage, tragedy, great achievements and great sacrifices; a story of young nations and old coming together in conflict. 

Millions of words have been written about the campaign, but the story has never been ‘narrated’ musically, until now.

The Gallipoli Symphony is a major composition by internationally respected composers from Australia, New Zealand and Turkey. It represents the first time eleven acclaimed composers from three nations that fought in the campaign have collaborated on a single commemorative work.

The Gallipoli story was structured into parts, themed around an element of the campaign and assigned to a composer to create a movement based on that theme. 

The Gallipoli Symphony creates an important legacy. It tells the story of the Gallipoli Campaign through music, reminding us of the horror and heartache of war and carries a message of hope, peace, friendship and collaboration between nations. 

Under the direction of Jessica Cottis, The Gallipoli Symphony will be performed by the Queensland Symphony Orchestra and renowned international soloists, enhanced by lighting and archival footage and still photographs themed to the movements.

The Gallipoli Symphony was commissioned by the Department of Veterans’ Affairs to commemorate the Centenary of the Gallipoli Campaign.  Visit The Gallipoli Symphony website for more informaiton.